Student Health and Safety
Texas state law, effective October 1, 2013, requires that all entering college and university students under the age of 22, must show proof that they have been immunized against bacterial meningitis, or have received a booster during the five years prior to registration, in order to attend. The vaccine must be administered at least 10 days before the first day of the semester.
According to the Centers for Disease Control, meningitis is an inflammation of the membranes that cover the brain and spinal cord. It can progress rapidly and cause permanent disabilities, and studies suggest that college students have a slightly higher risk of contracting the illness because they live and work in close proximity to other students. However, the bacterial meningitis vaccine will provide protection for you.
To ensure that students have met this immunization requirement, they must either receive the vaccination or claim an exemption.
To get a vaccination, students should:
Go to their health provider or local health department and have the bacterial meningitis vaccination at least 10 days prior to the first day of the semester.
To claim an exemption, students should:
Students living on-campus/resident students seeking an exemption from the vaccination due to reasons of conscience must complete the conscience exemption form from the Texas Department of State Health Services.
The appropriate form must be mailed to:
Office of Admissions
University of Houston-Victoria
3007 N. Ben Wilson
Victoria, TX 77901
Students enrolled ONLY in distance education (online) courses and who will NEVER take face-to-face or ITV classes should complete the Online Classes Only Immunization Waiver Form.
For more information, see the FAQ section of the Immunization Requirements for UHV Students.